4 common excuses not to get health insurance

4 common excuses not to get health insurance

The World Health Statistics is an annual snapshot of the state of health around the world, with the latest report highlighting just how vital health insurance can be in unforeseen circumstances.

“Too many people are still dying of preventable diseases, too many people are being pushed into poverty to pay for health care out of their own pockets and too many people are unable to get the health services they need." —WHO Director-General, Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus

But despite its importance, health insurance is not something that many people consider. Why is that so? Today, we examine 4 of the most common reasons for not getting health insurance.

1) “Health insurance is too costly. I’d rather save money!”

“Health insurance is actually cheaper when you’re healthy and more expensive when you get sick.”

While health insurance may not be cheap initially, it can prove to be less costly in the long run when the need arises. It is important to realise that some situations demand for long-term treatment rather than a one-time fee. If you’re looking to save money, don’t dismiss health insurance entirely. In fact, it is actually cheaper when you’re healthy and more expensive when you get sick. Try looking out for cost savings through family policies. That way, you can save up but also not back out from your safety net.

2) “I have a regular exercise routine that keeps me healthy.”

Complacency often sets in when we’re having it good. You may be in the pink of health and taking up exercise classes regularly, but the worst types of disasters are those that come without warning. For example, certain diseases such as cancer have no correlation to your current state of health. In addition, people with active lifestyles might even be more prone to conditions such as high blood pressure and diabetes due to genetic disorders that are inherited in their family history. Hence, while a regular exercise routine is recommended for everyone, it should not be seen as a reason to avoid getting health insurance.

3) “I’m young and less prone to falling sick.”

“Most insurance plans require higher premiums when you’re older and exclude existing medical conditions.”

While that may be true to an extent, age could also represent a major complication should anything untoward happen. That is because younger people are less likely to have stable incomes to handle high medical costs as compared to older people who have been working for some time. As people age, it is also more likely for them to develop health conditions along the way. Most insurance plans require higher premiums when you’re older and exclude existing medical conditions—which is why it is always advisable to invest in a health insurance from a young age.

4) “Health insurance is too complicated to understand.”

With so many types of health insurance policies available on the market, it is normal to feel overwhelmed and confused about what is best for you. Hence, it is important to find a trustworthy insurance company that is readily contactable anytime, anywhere. A 24-hour hotline and easy-to-understand policies such as MSIG Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme would provide you with both assurance and awareness of health coverage that are most suited to your needs.

When it comes to health insurance, it is important to look at long-term rather than short-term reasons.

If you have any queries regarding different healthcare insurance plans, please feel free to contact us contact us or find out more about our insurance plans:

 view product

Learn more about EASY Claims and file your claims online anytime, anywhere.

EASY Claims

Source: https://www.who.int/news-room/detail/18-05-2018-director-general-brings-ambitious-agenda-for-change-to-world-health-assembly

Other articles you may be interested in

06-21 · Home

Here are a few things to take note of when exploring real estate options that could save you money in the future and assure the safety of your…

06-21 · Home

Entering the typhoon season, not only are household precautions against strong winds necessary, so is comprehensive home insurance. 

05-21 · Motor

When it comes to accidents involving multiple cars, things can get complicated. Check out the 3 common scenarios.

不購買醫療保險的四大常見理由

4 common excuses not to get health insurance

每年一度的《世界衛生統計》報告提供全球多個成員國的健康狀況概覽,最新數據顯示我們面對無法預測的情況時,醫療保險的重要性。

「有很多人仍然因為可預防的疾病而離世、有很多人因為需要自掏腰包支付醫療費用而陷入貧困,亦有很多人無法獲取他們所需的醫療服務。」世界衛生組織總幹事譚德塞

儘管醫療保險十分重要,卻不是很多人會考慮購買。為什麼呢?今天,我們透過這篇文章為大家剖析為何不購買醫療保險的四大常見理由。

1) 「醫療保險太貴了,寧願省錢儲蓄!」

「您在健康時購買醫療保險會比較便宜,患病後才投保反而更貴。」

或許一開始您會覺得醫療保險並不便宜,但長遠來說,在您有需要的時候就會發現它能替您節省金錢。大家必須明白有些健康狀況或需要長期治療,而非付一次錢看病就能了事。即使您打算儲蓄,也不要完全否定醫療保險。事實上,您在健康時購買醫療保險會比較便宜,患病後才投保反而更貴,您亦可選擇家庭計劃來降低購買醫療保險的成本。這樣的話,不但能省錢儲蓄,也能讓自己得到醫療保障。

2) 「我有恆常運動以保持健康。」

當生活事事如意,我們往往會自我感覺良好。雖然定期運動的您非常健康,但那些毫無先兆的健康問題才是最可怕的噩夢。舉例說,部分疾病的出現與您當前的健康狀況並無關係,癌症就是好例子。再者,生活忙碌、缺乏休息的人,反而會較容易因家族遺傳的基因突變而患上高血壓及糖尿病。雖說定期運動有益身心,但這也不是不購買醫療保險的理由。

3) 「我很年輕,患病機會較低」

「如您在年紀較大的時候才購買醫療保險,不但保費高昂,而且投保前已存在的傷病並不受保」

雖然這番話在某程度來說可能正確,但當您不幸患病,年紀也可能令情況變得複雜。因為相對在職多年較年長的人士來說,初出茅廬的年輕人收入較不穩定,難以應付高昂的醫療費用。而隨著年紀漸長,患病的機會亦會慢慢增高。如您在年紀較大的時候才購買醫療保險,不但保費較昂貴,而且投保前已存在的傷病並不受保 —— 所以,趁年輕時購買醫療保險是明智的做法。

4) 「醫療保險太複雜難明。」

由於市場上的醫療保險五花八門,如果您覺得無從入手,難以挑選合適的方案,也是正常的。因此,您需要一間值得信賴的保險公司,而且可以隨時隨地聯絡得到。三井住友的自願醫保計劃提供24小時服務熱線,加上保單內容簡單而易明,讓您可放心挑選最符合您需要的醫療保障。

醫療保險要看長遠價值,不要著眼於那些短期效益。

如對醫療保險有任何疑問,請隨時聯絡我們 contact us 或透過以下途徑了解我們的保險計劃:

view product

了解EASY網上索償系統,以便隨時隨地於網上提交索償。

EASY Claims

資料來源: https://www.who.int/news-room/detail/18-05-2018-director-general-brings-ambitious-agenda-for-change-to-world-health-assembly

您可能有興趣的文章

05-21 · 旅遊

以下4個位處亞洲、如同世外桃源般的海島,正在等您去發掘!

05-21 · 意外

一份合適的意外保險計劃,可以為您及家人提供周全的準備,為免在意外發生後擔心突如其來的治療費用,亦保障生活支出如常,防患於未然。

04-21 · 家居

身為業主,最怕遇上「租霸」,一份物業出租業主保險,便可以為您提供適合的保障。