Frequently Asked Questions

  • Hong Kong
  • Macau
My planned period of travel is within the insured timeframe of my iTravel Plus Policy. In the middle of my trip, I wish to extend my travel plan. Will my iTravel Plus Policy automatically extend the period of insurance?

Your iTravel Plus Policy will only be automatically extended for a maximum of 14 days, for the reasons stated in the Travel Delay and Trip Rearrangement sections. If you wish to extend your trip for other purposes and also extend the period of insurance, you are advised to contact us before expiration of the policy to obtain our prior consent. An additional premium may be required to extend your period of insurance under these circumstances.

I fell sick while I was travelling but I did not consult a doctor. I only did so when I returned to Hong Kong. Am I covered?

Unfortunately, medical expenses incurred after your return to Hong Kong are not covered. Under your iTravel Plus Policy, we only pay for medical expenses incurred as follow-up treatment in Hong Kong, if you have consulted a legally registered medical practitioner overseas for the same sickness during the insured trip.

I planned to fly back from New York to Hong Kong but my flight got delayed for ten hours. The airline explained that the delay was due to "air traffic control." Can I claim for the delay?

We are sorry that we cannot proceed with your claim because "air traffic control" does not fall within our policy coverage, as set out in the Travel Delay section. However, you will be compensated with HK$250 for the first 6 hours of delay and for each subsequent period of 12 hours of delay if the delay from "air traffic control" was either the direct or indirect result of adverse weather conditions or natural disaster which had not yet taken place or been announced when you purchased the travel insurance.

I know that riots are taking place in my travel destination but I have to go as planned. Will that affect the coverage of my iTravel Plus Policy?

It depends on when you take out the travel policy. If riots are known to be occurring or are announced prior to your application for travel insurance, any loss arising from the riots will not be covered by the travel insurance as it has become a known incident which is excluded by travel insurance policy. However, any loss not arising from the riots will be covered according to the policy.

However, if the riots are known only after you have taken out travel insurance, then any loss arising from the riots will be covered as usual.

I had planned to travel to Taipei this weekend, but a typhoon just hit the island today. I want to cancel my trip. Am I covered?

Yes. Since your departure from Hong Kong was delayed by a period of not less than 24 hours because of the typhoon, and you purchased the insurance policy before the news of the typhoon was widely reported, you will be covered for any unused travel and accommodation expenses that you have already paid or must pay, if at the same time you cannot recover them from any other source.

Taipei has been hit by an earthquake today. Although I plan to go there in one month, I want to cancel my trip now. Can I claim the travel expenses I have already paid for?

Unfortunately, you cannot claim under our policy if you make the cancellation now. Our Trip Cancellation cover will only become operative if the natural disaster has resulted in a more than 24-hour delay in your scheduled departure from Hong Kong.

When I returned to Hong Kong from a trip, my baggage was delayed. Am I covered under my iTravel Plus Policy?

No. Delayed Baggage protection is only available if your check-in baggage is delayed for your outward journey. The intention of this cover is to assist you when you are deprived of essential supplies while abroad.

What should my policy inception date be for a flight schedule starting at midnight?

You are recommended to take out travel insurance a day prior to your midnight flight in order to ensure that the journey from your home/office to the airport will also be covered.

For example, your flight is scheduled for 00:30am on 10th March. If you take out travel insurance from 10th March and, unfortunately, your car crashes during your journey to the airport at 11.30pm on 9th March, then you will not be protected by your iTravel Plus Policy, as the travel insurance policy is only effective on 10th March.

Will I be covered if I am injured by a terrorist attack while travelling?

Yes. iTravel Plus Policy covers death or bodily injury, medical expenses and emergency assistance services in case of terrorist attack while travelling. However, it should be noted that we do not cover such acts of terrorism that involve the use of biological or chemical agents, or nuclear devices.

In case of emergency, who should I contact for assistance?

You can call our 24-hour Worldwide Travel Assistance Services hotline at any time at +852 3122 6899 for travel and medical assistance including:

  • Emergency medical evacuation and repatriation after treatment
  • Repatriation of mortal remains or ashes
  • Deposit guarantee for hospital admission overseas
  • Compassionate visits
  • Children escort arrangements
  • Unexpected return to Hong Kong, etc.
I have an iTravel Plus (Annual) insurance policy. Does it cover all my journeys made during the year?

The policy provides cover for an unlimited number of journeys made during the insurance period. Maximum duration of each journey should not be more than 90 days. If the journey exceeds 90 days, the whole journey will not be covered under the policy.

If your journey lasts more than 90 days, you are recommended to take out iTravel Plus (Single Trip) insurance policy which covers any journey up to 182 consecutive days.

I lost my camera during the trip. I wanted to keep taking pictures so I bought a new camera overseas. Can I make a claim for that under my travel insurance?

Yes. If the camera is less than one year old, we will pay the replacement cost of a similar item. If it is more than one year old, we will deduct from the replacement cost a reasonable amount of depreciation. The most important thing is that you need to report the loss at a nearby police station and obtain a "lost certificate" from the police to support your claim with MSIG.

How can I save money on travel insurance?

If you are a frequent traveller, one of the best ways is to purchase our annual travel policy. Not only is our annual travel policy more cost-effective, it also saves you the trouble of taking out a policy every time you travel.

This FAQ information is for reference only. For details of coverage, terms, conditions, and exclusions, please refer to the policy wording.

常見問題

  • 香港
  • 澳門
我原定的旅程期限在 iTravel Plus 的保障期限內。在旅程途中我希望延長旅程,iTravel Plus 會否自動延長保障期限?

您的 iTravel Plus 保單會因應保單中行程延誤及行程更改兩個保障項目中所訂明之原因而自動延長保障期限。如您因其他原因須要延長旅程及保障期限,您必須先得到我們的同意,並請盡快於保單保險期屆滿前聯絡我們。在這種情況下,您可能須要繳付延長保障期限所須之額外保費。

在外遊時,我感到身體不適但沒有向醫生求診,直到我回港後才求醫,這樣我會否受到保障?

很抱歉,您在港求醫的費用在這情況下將不受 iTravel Plus 保險單保障。在港求醫只限於返港後覆診費用的賠償,主要保障您於受保期間,曾在海外向合法註冊醫療機構求醫的同一病症。

計劃由紐約飛返香港,但航機已被延誤 10 小時。航空公司解釋延誤是由於「空中交通管制」所造成的。我能否就此延誤獲得賠償?

很抱歉,我們無法為您的情況作出賠償,因為「空中交通管制」並不屬保單中行程延誤項目的承保範圍。然而,若「空中交通管制」是由惡劣天氣或自然災害所直接或間接造成,而您是於該惡劣天氣或自然災害消息尚未公佈前投保,您仍可因行程延誤首6 小時及之後每12小時獲得港幣 250 元的賠償。

若我知道正要前往的目的地正發生騷亂,但我必須如期前往,這會影響我在 iTravel Plus 保險單的保障嗎?

這視乎您何時投保旅遊保險。假如您在投保前已知悉那兒的騷亂,則任何由該騷亂所造成的損失均不獲旅遊保單保障,因為保單並不保障早已知悉的事件,惟任何並非由騷亂而造成的損失則可如常獲得保障。
然而,若騷亂在您投保旅遊保險後才發生,則任何因為騷亂而造成的損失將根據保單條文獲得相應的保障。

我將於本週末去台北旅遊,但颱風剛剛侵襲當地旅遊景點。我想取消行程,我是否能獲得保障?

可以。由於您的行程因颱風而引致離港時間比原定的延誤至少 24 小時,迫使您想取消行程, 而您亦是於颱風消息公佈前已投保,您便可獲賠償您已支付或必須支付並未使用而又同時不能從任何其他途徑退回的旅行及住宿費。

台北今日剛剛發生地震。雖然我計劃一個月後才到該地旅遊,但我現在想取消行程,請問我的旅費能獲得賠償嗎?

若您現在取消旅程,抱歉您未能由我們的保單中獲得賠償。只有當自然災害導致您原定行程被延誤超過 24 小時以上時,旅遊保單的取消行程保障方有效。

我在旅遊後返抵香港時,行李受到延誤,這會否受 iTravel Plus 保險單所保障?

抱歉此延誤並不受保障。行李延誤保障只適用於離港旅程。此項保障的目的是協助您萬一在離境後未能領回行李,在缺乏隨身物品的情況下,提供購買必須物品以應付不時之須的保障。

我的航班在凌晨起飛,我的旅遊保險該由何日開始生效?

我們建議您將旅遊保險定在凌晨航班起飛的前一日生效,以確保您由住所/辦公室前往機場的旅程都可以受到旅遊保險的保障。
舉例說,您的航班原定於 3 月 10 日凌晨 12 時 30 分起飛。若您投保了由 3 月 10 日開始生效的旅遊保險,而不幸地您在 3 月 9 日晚上 11 時 30 分前往機場的旅程途中遇上意外,那您將不會受保於 3 月 10 日才開始生效的旅遊保險的保障。

若我於旅途中因恐怖襲擊受傷,我能否得到保障?

可以。iTravel Plus 保單保障在旅程中因恐怖襲擊而導致受保人身故或身體受傷、醫療費用及全球旅遊保障支援服務。然而,值得注意的是我們並不為涉及使用生物劑、化學劑或核子裝置的恐怖活動提供保障。

如在外地旅遊時須要支援,我可以聯繫誰以提供協助?

您可於任何時候致電我們 24 小時全球旅遊支援熱線 +852 3122 6899 尋求援助。

  • 緊急醫療運送及接受治療後送返現居住地方服務
  • 運送遺體或骨灰返國
  • 海外入院保證金
  • 安排親友探訪
  • 安排護送子女送返原居地
  • 因意外必須更改行程回港等
我投保了 iTravel Plus (全年旅程)的保險單,此保單是否保障我全年所有的旅程?

此保單保障一年內無限次的旅程,每次旅程為期最多 90 天,如旅程超過 90 天,則整段旅程均不獲保障。

若您的旅程持續多於 90 天,我們建議您投保保障旅程持續達 182 天的 iTravel Plus (單次旅程)。

我在旅行時遺失了相機,但我希望可以繼續拍照,因此在當地購買了一部新相機。現在我還可就我的旅遊保險提出索償嗎﹖

可以,只要您遺失了的相機從購買日期起計未超過一年,我們便會賠償購買同類相機的費用。若遺失了的相機購買已超過一年,我們則會從購買同類相機費用的賠償中扣除合理的折舊。但最重的是,您必須到就近的警署報案,並取得警署發出的報失證書,作為向MSIG保險索償時遞交的證明文件。

在購買旅遊保險時,怎樣才能精打細算﹖

若您經常外遊,其中一個最好的投保方法就是購買全年旅遊保險,因為相對於每次購買旅遊保險,全年旅遊保險的保費肯定會更加經濟。同時,您亦可省去每次旅程前都要安排購買旅遊保險的時間。

以上提供之常見問題資料只供參考,有關保障範圍及承保條款,請參閱保單。