Travel

Claim case sharing

Will travel insurance cover accidental bodily injury caused by a riot?

When a riot occurs, travellers can find themselves stranded and their safety compromised. What they worry most about is their personal safety. Will travel insurance cover accidental bodily injury caused by a riot or civil unrest?

If a policy holder encounters a demonstration at the planned destination and becomes injured, the insurance company will pay the benefits, dependent on the insurance application date.

If the travel insurance was taken out before the outbreak of unrest was widely reported, MSIG will pay for the medical expenses arising from accidental bodily injury as well as the loss of personal property, money and travel documents. Additional accommodation, transportation expenditure and the unused local tour package or admission tickets to major sporting event, musical, museum or theme park incurred due to the disturbance can also be covered.

However, if the uprising had been reported at the intended travel destination on or before the date of the application of the travel insurance, thus creating a situation where a decision to cancel, shorten or delay the trip could be made, majority of the travel insurance companies will not pay the benefits for any loss or injury incurred under these circumstances.

In a situation that travellers were stranded overseas due to a riot, many insurance companies in the market would automatically extend the insurance protection period. Length of the extension period varies with each policy. MSIG's TravelSurance 7.0 and iTravel Plus (Single Trip) offer a 14-day extension.

Learn more about our insurance plans:

view product

Learn more about EASY Claims and file your claims online anytime, anywhere.

EASY Claims

旅遊

索賠案例分享

若旅遊期間因當地騷亂而遭受意外,旅遊保險能保障投保人嗎?

外遊時遇上騷亂,旅客滯留時間越長,人生安全所受的威脅就越大。其實,若旅行期間因騷亂遭遇意外,旅行保險會保障投保人嗎?

若投保人在旅行途中遇到騷亂並不幸發生意外,保險公司會根據投保日期來決定投保人的保障範圍。

如果旅客在傳媒廣泛報導騷亂前已投保了旅遊保險,並已經起行,則其在途中遇到的個人意外、及因此而產生的醫療開支、個人錢財和旅遊證件的丟失等都會依照保險條款得到賠償。除此之外,MSIG亦會賠償額外的交通及住宿費用包括於海外之當地旅行套票或任何主要體育賽事、音樂會或主題公園等的入場券。

但是,若投保人在投保旅遊保險計劃當日,已知道旅遊地點所發生的被廣泛報道的事故,例如騷亂,而該事故很大機會引致旅程取消、縮短或延誤甚至在旅途中遭遇意外,在這個情況下,市面上大部旅遊保險均不會賠償由上述原因而招致更改旅程的損失。

以騷亂被迫滯留當地為例,市面上很多保險公司都會自動為投保人延長受保期。而延長期的長短則視乎個別保險公司而定。MSIG的「逍遙遊6.0」及「iTravel Plus (單次旅程)」將會自動為投保人延長保障期14日。

了解更多我們的保險計劃: 
iTravel Plus (單次旅程)
iTravel Plus (全年旅程)