Travel

Claim case sharing

Does travel insurance cover the loss of my personal belongings during my trip even when the police case report is written in a language other than Chinese or English?

With more people travelling to unwind from the pressures of work, countries like Japan, Thailand and Korea have become popular destinations among Hong Kong travellers. However, many locals in these countries only speak in their native languages, making it difficult for travellers to communicate.

Imagine having checked into a hotel in Thailand, and suddenly realising that your belongings left in the hotel have gone missing after lunch. What can you do if you have already bought travel insurance?

Loss of baggage during a trip is frustrating. However, you do not have to worry too much if you have bought your travel insurance. Most travel insurance provide coverage for loss of baggage and money. The policyholder has to report the case to the local police after the incidence of property loss within 24 hours. All supporting documents, reports and original receipts – such as police case report and receipts for necessary items purchased after the loss – must be retained in order to file a claim with the insurance company after returning to Hong Kong.

You have reported to the police after losing your personal belongings, however, the content of the case report was written in Thai. Does it affect the claim procedure after returning to Hong Kong? Will the insurance company process the documents in other languages directly?

In principle, the insurance company will only process documents written in Chinese or English. However, if the policyholder reports the claim immediately upon arrival in Hong Kong and has already found a translation company or the Consulate-General to help translate the report and relevant documents, such a claim submission is still valid. Other than that, the translation fees incurred should be borne by the policyholder. Moreover, the policyholder should be aware that most travel insurance policies request all documents, including the translated case report and completed claim form, should be submitted to the insurance company within 30 days after returning to Hong Kong, otherwise all claims are deemed invalid.

Guidelines for Insurance Policy Coverage of Property Loss

The policyholder is responsible for protecting his/her personal belongings and money. The insurance company does not provide coverage if the properties are left unattended in public areas. Policyholders should pay extra attention to their property, especially travellers who choose to share hostel rooms or service apartments with strangers. In such circumstances, they are advised to keep their property locked in a safe place or at the hostel reception. Otherwise, any loss of property incurred under such circumstances may not result in a successful claim.

Learn more about travel insurance plans.

旅遊

索賠案例分享

出外旅遊卻不幸財物被竊,報案後更發現報案紀錄非以中/英文寫成,我仍能申索保險賠償嗎?

不少香港人習慣趁著長假期出外旅遊,暫且忘卻沉重的生活壓力。日本、泰國、韓國,這些國家均為香港人的熱門旅遊地點。不過,以上國家大多數有本土語言,香港人很少能以當地語言溝通。

倘若你與友人相約到泰國旅遊並入住當地酒店,外出用膳後卻發現財物不翼而飛,已購買旅遊保險的你,應該如何是好?

在旅途中損失財物的確令人沮喪,不過如果你已購買旅遊保險,就不用太擔心,因為一般旅遊保險均會提供遺失行李和個人錢財的保障。投保人必須於財物被竊後的24小時內向當地警方報案,並保留所有文件和單據正本,例如報案紀錄、因遺失行李而要購買必需品的收據等等,以便回港後向保險公司索償。

你與友人在財物被竊後已即時到警局報案,但報案後卻發現手上的報案紀錄內容全部是泰文,到底這會否影響回港後的索償程序? 保險公司會直接處理其他語言的文件嗎?

原則上,保險公司只會處理中/英文的文件。雖然如此,只要投保人在回港後,第一時間將財物被竊事件知會保險公司,然後自行找翻譯公司或向該國的駐港領事館求助,將報案紀錄及其他相關文件翻譯成中/英文,再呈交保險公司便可申索賠償。然而,一切翻譯費用須由投保人承擔。另外,時間規限亦是投保人務必注意的項目,因為大部份旅遊保險會要求投保人於回港後30日內將一切有關文件,例如翻譯妥當的報案紀錄及填妥的索償表格一併交回保險公司,否則便不能獲得賠償。

遺失財物保障須知

投保人有責任對受保行李及個人錢財提供適當的保護,而保險公司亦不會對任何在缺乏看管情況下,放在公眾地方而招致損失的財物作出賠償。如會與互不相識的同道中人分租旅館房間更須格外小心,應將財物鎖好,又或寄存在旅館接待處,不應隨便放在房間內,否則財物一旦被竊可能不獲賠償。

了解更多我們的保險計劃: 
iTravel Plus (單次旅程)
iTravel Plus (全年旅程)