Travel

Claim case sharing

Take reasonable care of your belongings

Mr. Yip, Mrs. Yip and their son were on vacation in Phuket. One day, they went to a beach for water sports. While Mr. Yip and his son were playing on the beach, Mrs. Yip was taking photos of them while standing close to their travel bag. Towards the evening, Mrs. Yip joined them, leaving their travel bag unattended for just a few moments. When she looked back, two thieves had grabbed the travel bag. Mr. Yip immediately ran after the thieves but failed to catch them. As a result, they lost a digital camera, a pair of earrings and a wallet.

Mrs. Yip reported the incident to the Phuket police and later filed a claim with their travel insurance company when they returned to Hong Kong. However, the insurance company declined the claim for the reason that Mrs. Yip should bear responsibility for the loss since she had not taken reasonable care of their travel bag prior to the theft. Mrs. Yip should have kept the travel bag with her, even though it was just a few steps away when it was stolen.

The travel insurance company stood firm on the fact that the beach was a public area where theft might easily happen, and that keeping an eye open was not enough to prevent theft. Mrs. Yip should have been more cautious with her personal belongings in order to avoid loss, especially of valuable items.

MSIG’s advice

The terms and conditions of most travel insurance policies require the insured person to take reasonable precautions to prevent any potential loss. If the insured person does not take good care of their personal belongings, this may result in a breach of the conditions and the claim may not be covered under the policy.

Learn more about travel insurance plans.

旅遊

索賠案例分享

小心看管您的財物

葉先生與太太及兒子到布吉渡假。當葉先生及兒子在海灘遊玩,而葉太太則在海灘旁邊為他們拍照及看管其旅行袋。黃昏時,葉太太亦一同參與丈夫及兒子遊玩,並暫時將其旅行袋擱置在旁。當葉太太回頭看時,該旅行袋正被兩名賊人企圖偷去。儘管葉先生立即追捕賊人,但最後還是被賊人逃離。結果,他們損失了一部數碼相機、一對耳環及錢包。

葉太太在當地報了警,回港後便向其旅遊保險的保險公司申請索償。可是,保險公司認為葉太太於事發時沒有小心看管其旅行袋,須要為是次損失負責任,所以拒絕了她的索償。縱使海灘與被擱置的旅行袋之間只有十多步的距離,葉太太亦應把旅行袋隨身攜帶。

在保險公司的立場而言,海灘是公眾地方,容易招人盜竊。謹慎起見,葉太太應小心至上以保障其財物安全,特別是貴重物品。

三井住友保險之建議

大部份旅遊保單都載有條款,要求受保人採取合理的預防措施,以防止發生損失的風險。倘受保人將其個人財物放於公眾地方而不加以看管,這或會構成違反上述保單條款,導致保險公司拒賠。

了解更多我們的保險計劃: 

iTravel Plus (單次旅程)
iTravel Plus (全年旅程)
全年旅遊保險3.0
逍遙遊6.0