Travel

Claim case sharing

How does depreciation affect luggage damage claim?

Mr. Law travelled to Frankfurt for two weeks. When he collected his luggage at the airport after he returned to Hong Kong, one of his bags was damaged. He immediately reported the damage to the airline company and requested compensation. The airline company admitted their negligence and compensated him HK$400, which was half of the original value of the luggage bought 3 years ago.

Mr. Law was unsatisfied because the airline company refused to compensate the original value of his luggage. He then filed a claim with his travel insurance company together with damage confirmation from the airline company.

After assessment, Mr. Law's travel insurance company paid HK$200 to him after deduction for depreciation and in consideration of the compensation already paid by the airline company. Mr. Law was not satisfied with this outcome and insisted that the compensation should be for the original value of his luggage.

Why was Mr. Law unable to claim the original value of his luggage from his travel insurance company?

As Mr. Law had already received HK$400 compensation from the airline company, his actual loss was only HK$400. Since Mr. Law's luggage was bought 3 years ago, his travel insurance company took depreciation into account when calculating the compensation. Therefore, Mr. Law was compensated HK$200 by his travel insurance company.

Some customers may assume insurance companies will compensate the original value of a damaged item. They should take note that travel insurance will compensate the market price of the item only when the item was bought less than a year before the claim. Betterment will also be deducted if an upgraded model of the damaged item was bought as a replacement.

Learn more about travel insurance plans.

旅遊

索賠案例分享

折舊如何影響行李損毀索償?

羅先生到法蘭克福旅遊兩星期,回港後,他在機場領取行李時發現其中一個行李箱損毀了。他立刻向航空公司報告並要求賠償。航空公司承認其疏忽,向羅先生賠償了港幣400元,即他三年前購買行李箱的一半價值。

羅先生不滿意航空公司拒絕賠償其行李箱之原來價值,遂向其承保旅遊保險之保險公司遞交航空公司確認行李損毀之證明,並索償是次損失。

經審查後,羅先生投保之旅遊保險公司扣除折舊額及航空公司的賠償後,向他賠償了港幣200元。他感到不滿並堅持他應獲賠其行李箱的原來價值。

為何保險公司沒有賠償羅先生之行李箱的原來價值?

由於羅先生已獲得航空公司賠償港幣400元,其實際損失只有港幣400元。加上羅先生的行李箱購自三年前,他投保之旅遊保險公司在計算賠償時會考慮到折舊的因素,所以,他獲賠償港幣200 元。

有些顧客可能認為保險公司會賠償損毀物件的原來價值,但需要注意的是旅遊保險只會為購買少於一年的損毀物件賠償其市場價值。如客戶購買比損毀物品更高級之型號則需扣除「狀況比原先好」的差異。

了解更多我們的保險計劃: 
iTravel Plus (單次旅程)
iTravel Plus (全年旅程)