Travel

Claim case sharing

Coverage for valuable items when travelling overseas

Mrs. Lee took a newly purchased diamond necklace (worth HK$50,000) and earrings (worth HK$20,000) to her daughter’s wedding banquet in Canada last month. She had taken out travel insurance before starting her trip. Unfortunately, when she returned to the hotel after the banquet, she discovered that her earrings were missing.

When she returned to Hong Kong, Mrs. Lee filed her claim with her insurance company together with the police report issued by the Canadian police and the original purchase invoice for the earrings. After a few days, Mrs. Lee was told by her insurance company that she would only receive HK$2,000 as a result of her claim. Why was Mrs. Lee not offered the full reimbursement of HK$20,000?

In Mrs. Lee’s case, according to the coverage of her travel insurance policy, although the maximum coverage for loss of baggage was HK$20,000, the maximum coverage for any single article or pair or set of articles was HK$2,000. Therefore, as Mrs. Lee’s earrings were less than 1 year old and no depreciation was deducted, she was reimbursed only with the maximum article limit of HK$2,000.

How can customers get full cover when they travel overseas and need to take valuable items such as jewellery with them?

To protect property that is to be carried away from the home, customers are advised to extend the Worldwide All Risks section of their home contents policy by paying an additional premium, so that these items are covered irrespective of whether they are in or out of the home. With regard to precious items such as jewellery or valuable watches, customers are advised to make a list of these items and their values and to take out specified personal possessions cover, so that all items will have comprehensive coverage.

Learn more about travel insurance plans.

旅遊

索賠案例分享

外遊時的貴重財物保障

李太太於上月攜帶新購買的一套價值港幣50,000元的鑽石頸鍊及港幣20,000元的鑽石耳環到加拿大出席女兒的婚禮,並於出發前已購買旅遊保險。不幸地,於婚宴完畢回到酒店後,李太太發現遺失了鑽石耳環。

李太太於回港後即連同於當地的報案記錄及耳環於購買時的發票向保險公司索償。數日後,保險公司告知李太太只獲賠償港幣2,000元。為甚麼李太太不能獲得全數賠償港幣20,000元呢?

就李太太的情況,根據她的旅遊保險保單,雖然遺失行李的最高賠償額為港幣20,000元,但每件/每對或每組物品的最高賠償額為港幣2,000元。由於李太太的耳環購入不超過一年,所以在毋須扣除折舊的情況下,她可獲最高分項的賠償額港幣2,000元。

當客戶需要攜帶貴重物品,如珠寶到海外時,怎樣才可獲得全面保障?

要保障攜帶離家外遊的財物,我們建議客戶可略加保費於他們的家居財物保險附加全球個人財物全險,使這些物品不論被放於家中或攜帶外遊時均受到保障。而針對價值較高的貴重物品,例如:珠寶,貴重手錶,客人應於投保時列出貴重物品的清單及其價值,同時購買指定受保財物保障,使該物品受到更全面的保障。

了解更多我們的保險計劃: 
iTravel Plus (單次旅程)
iTravel Plus (全年旅程)