Motor

Claim case sharing

Drunk driving

Scenario:
Mr. Shek, an insured driver, was driving along a road and was approaching a bus stop. Suddenly, a child who intended to catch the bus dashed out from the opposite side of the road towards the rear of the bus. Unable to stop the car in time, Mr. Shek knocked the child down and also crashed into the bus. The child was admitted to the hospital. The bus and the insured car were damaged. Mr. Shek took a post-accident breathalyzer test and the result exceeded the prescribed limit. Though he was not charged for any driving offence, he was convicted of drunk driving. The injured child and the bus company demanded compensation.

In this scenario, should Mr. Shek bear all the responsibilities or should the insurance company settle the claims for a) the injured child; b) third party property damage (i.e. the bus); and c) Mr. Shek's own car damage?

Answer:
As Mr. Shek was convicted of drunk driving, under the policy exclusions, it would not be the insurance company, but Mr. Shek to bear all liabilities arising out of the accident. However, the accident involved third party bodily injury. Under the Insurers' Concerned Principle of The Domestic Agreement issued by the Motor Insurers' Bureau of Hong Kong (MIB), the insurance company would run a risk of being liable for not properly defending the bodily injury claim.

Therefore, the insurance company would take over the conduct of proceedings on a "without prejudice" basis for the insured. In this way, the insurer could properly handle any possible proceedings with the assistance of the insured. After the third party bodily injury claim was settled by the insurer, the compensation made to the third party would be recovered from Mr. Shek, who was also liable for the bus damage claim. The insurer was also not liable for Mr. Shek's own damage.

As long as the accident is caused by the insured driver's negligence, he or she is still held liable for third party bodily injury regardless of the insurance cover. Even worse, the insured's own bodily injury and property damage as well as the third party's property damage will not be covered by the insurer. Therefore, it is important to always practise safe driving. 

Learn more about our insurance plans:

view product

Learn more about EASY Claims and file your claims online anytime, anywhere.

EASY Claims

汽車

索償案例分享

醉酒駕駛

個案:
當石先生駛向巴士站時,一名小童突然從對面行人路跑往巴士尾部,希望趕上那巴士。因收掣不及,他將小童撞倒並撞向巴士,而受傷小童須送院救治。石先生之車輛及巴士均告損毀。石先生事後接受酒精測試,得出的結果超出法例所限之標準。石先生雖沒有被控不小心駕駛卻被控醉酒駕駛。事後,受傷小童及巴士公司均向石先生提出索償。

在這個案中,究竟石先生須承擔所有責任或保險公司須賠償予:甲)受傷小童;乙)第三者財物損毀(即巴士)及丙)石先生之財物損毀?

答:
因石先生被控醉酒駕駛,根據除外責任情況,保險公司均不需負責,而石先生則須負上所有由該意外造成的法律責任。但本個案因涉及第三者身體受傷,根據香港汽車保險局 (MIB) 所發出之本地條例 (Domestic Agreement) 內之有關承保人原則 (Insurer's Concerned Principle),如保險公司拒絕第三者人身傷亡之索償,則可能要承擔「索償訴訟未能被妥善處理」的風險。

所以,保險公司通常會在不影響其拒賠原則下,替石先生處理有關的索償訴訟。因此,在石先生之協助下,保險公司能確保妥善處理索償訴訟。完成索償訴訟後,保險公司會向石先生追回對第三者身體受傷所作之賠償,亦無需為石先生本身之財物/身體受傷作出賠償,及承擔巴士損毀的法律責任。

只要證實汽車意外是由受保司機之疏忽引致,無論他/她有否購買保險,他/她都需要對第三者之人身傷亡負責。更壞的是他/她亦需要對本身之人身傷亡、財物損毀及第三者之財物損毀負責。所以,請緊記時刻安全駕駛。 

了解更多我們的保險計劃:

 view product

了解EASY網上索償系統,以便隨時隨地於網上提交索償。

EASY Claims