從泰國洞穴救援事件學懂如何安心旅遊

Thai cave rescue and the travel lessons we can learn from it

您可能都聽過泰國洞穴救援行動 —— 一個面對絕境仍展現出勇氣和抗逆力的故事。12名男孩及其足球教練被困於地下洞穴,而且適逢雨季下暴雨,令洞內水位不斷上升。全世界在2018年7月10日終於都如釋重負,來自世界各地的潛水員及拯救人員排除萬難,成功救出所有受困的人。

現在一切煎熬已過去,換來很多值得慶祝及感恩的事,但我們從中學懂的教訓同樣重要,以下列出從泰國洞穴救援事件中學到的三件事。

1. 旅遊預防措施看似沒有必要,但比您想像中更為重要

說到旅遊,我們通常把某些預防措施(例如:查看天氣預報)排在待辦清單的末端。另外,我們在社交媒體看到某個地方的照片後,亦很容易產生誤解而受到影響,例如峇里島和夏威夷的天氣總是無可挑剔。然而,您知道這些地方亦曾遭受自然災害的侵襲,例如地震和山洪爆發?因此,在出發旅遊前要先查看天氣,您不會想在暴雨中滑浪或在行山時受到強風吹襲。

2. 進行高風險活動前先做資料搜集

您是否熱衷於戶外活動?不論是去印尼日惹中岜朗天坑(Goa Jomblang)拉繩垂降、抑或前往澳洲潛水天堂黃金海岸滑浪,在購買旅遊套票前先做資料搜集是十分重要,以確保在進行任何高風險活動時,均有專業人士或合資格指導員陪同。泰國洞穴救援行動得以成功,歸功於海豹部隊及從世界各地遠赴而來的經驗潛水員,他們的豐富經驗及專業知識大派用場。每當進行高風險活動,由富經驗的專業人士陪同就安全得多。

3. 在出發旅遊前確保您擁有足夠保障

我們從是次救援任務中學到一件很重要的事,就是常作準備。不論您前往哪個目的地、在本地或到海外旅遊,購買保險都很重要。一些旅遊保險提供緊急醫護及遺體運送服務等保障,在您最徬徨無助的時候,這類服務至關重要。當您擁有周全保障,不管身在何地,都能讓自己份外安心。

如對旅遊保險有任何疑問,請隨時聯絡我們 contact us 或透過以下途徑了解我們的保險計劃:

view product

了解EASY網上索償系統,以便隨時隨地於網上提交索償。

EASY Claims

您可能有興趣的文章

05-21 · 旅遊

以下4個位處亞洲、如同世外桃源般的海島,正在等您去發掘!

05-21 · 意外

一份合適的意外保險計劃,可以為您及家人提供周全的準備,為免在意外發生後擔心突如其來的治療費用,亦保障生活支出如常,防患於未然。

04-21 · 家居

身為業主,最怕遇上「租霸」,一份物業出租業主保險,便可以為您提供適合的保障。

Thai cave rescue and the travel lessons we can learn from it

Thai cave rescue and the travel lessons we can learn from it

You’ve probably heard of the Thai cave rescue — a story of courage and resilience in the face of extreme adversity. 12 boys and their football coach were trapped underground in a cave, with water levels rising steadily due to heavy monsoon rain. On 10 July 2018, the whole world let out a collective sigh of relief. After heroic efforts from divers and rescuers around the world, all of them were rescued.

Now that the ordeal is over, there is much to celebrate and be thankful for. But equally important are the lessons that we can learn from it. Here are 3 important takeaways from the Thai cave rescue.

1. Travel precautions may seem unnecessary but are more important than you think

When it comes to travel, certain precautions such as checking the weather forecast are often low on our to-do list. We can also be easily swayed by misconceptions of a particular place from the pictures we see on social media, such as the picture-perfect weather in Bali and Hawaii. But did you know that even such places experiences natural disasters such as earthquakes and flash floods? Always check the weather before embarking on a trip because you don’t want to be surfing in stormy weather or getting swept off by strong winds while hiking a mountain.

2. Don’t take on risky activities without doing your research

Are you a fan of outdoor activities? Be it abseiling down Goa Jomblang, the vertical cave in Indonesia, or surfing in Gold Coast, the diving paradise of Australia, it is important to do some research on the kind of package you’re signing up for. Make sure that any risky activities are always conducted by professionals or a qualified instructor. One reason why the Thai cave rescue was successful can be attributed to the experience and expertise of the Navy SEALs and other veteran divers who flew in from all over the world. When it comes to risky activities, you’re much safer in the hands of seasoned professionals.

3. Ensure that you’re fully covered before you travel

One of the most important things we can learn from the rescue mission is to always be prepared. No matter where you’re headed to, be it domestic or overseas travels, it is important to have insurance at hand. Some travel insurance provides coverage such as emergency medical evacuation and repatriation, which can be crucial when you least expect it. And by knowing that you’re always fully covered, you’re also giving yourself that extra peace of mind no matter where you are in the world.

If you have any queries regarding different travel insurance plans, please feel free to contact us contact us or find out more about our insurance plans:

 view product

Learn more about EASY Claims and file your claims online anytime, anywhere.

EASY Claims

Other articles you may be interested in

04-21 · Travel

Feeling jaded about work and looking for that adrenaline rush? You’ve come to the right place to plan your next epic getaway. Here are 4 extreme…

04-21 · Healthcare

Health insurance is not something that many people consider. Why is that so? Today, we examine 4 of the most common reasons for not getting health…

03-21 · Travel

Even though the COVID-19 pandemic remains volatile, the situation should improve as vaccines have been developed and become increasingly…