選購家居保險常犯的錯誤

Home insurance mistakes you don’t know you are making

尋找合適的家居保險時,最重要的是保障全面。以下是我們列出一些選購家居保險時最常見而可以避免的錯誤。

1.低估颱風的影響。

並非所有家居保險均涵蓋第三者受傷保障,但這是業主必須考慮的。全球暖化導致世界各地出現極端天氣,使颱風更為頻繁。更多的窗戶在颱風襲港時墜下,業主因而須負上導致第三者身體受傷或財務損失的法律責任。因此,選購涵蓋個人法律責任的保險計劃(例如三井住友保險的家居寶4.0 )是明智之舉。

2.根據物業價值調整家居保險。

物業的市值向來不斷波動。一些業主會在樓價下跌時調低對家居保險的保額,但千萬不要效法。因為無論您居所的價值是多少,重建的價格是不會改變。萬一發生災難,您可能會耗費不菲。

3.低估您的貴重物品。

大部分家居保險計劃對居所的個人財物索償均設限制。舉例而言,您大概有價值10,000港元的財物(如首飾、古董或藝術品等),但保障額可能遠低於此數。選購家居保險前,務必列出居所中全部貴重物品,尤其是價值超過1,000港元的物品。這樣才能確保您的家居保險計劃與居所和居所內物品(尤其是貴重物品)的價值相符。

4.選購保費較低的家居保險。

保費較低長遠可讓您節省支出,但這些家居保險計劃未必是最佳之選。有些家居保險產品可能抽走某些重要項目(如緊急支援服務),從而降低保險產品價格,吸引更多人購買。

貼士:投保前,認清您的需要和優先項目來決定購買家居保險,而非保費。了解家居保險產品是避免犯下代價高昂錯誤的關鍵。

如有疑問,歡迎聯絡我們contact了解家居保險詳情。

FamilySurance(eng)Landlord protector(eng)Tenantprotector(eng)

Home insurance mistakes you don’t know you are making

Home insurance mistakes you don’t know you are making

When it comes to our home insurance, it is important to cover all bases. We rank some of the most common missteps to avoid when purchasing home insurance.

1. Underestimating the impact of typhoon.

Not all home insurance policies provide coverage for third party injury, but it is fast becoming essential to homeowners. Rising global temperatures have led to extreme weather changes around the world, which in turn has led to more typhoons in Hong Kong. More falling windows occurred during typhoon and the homeowners will also have liability towards any third party bodily injury or property damage. As such, it is wise to consider insurance plans that include personal liability coverage, such as MSIG’s FamilySurance Plus 4.0.

2. Adjusting home insurance according to real estate value.

Real estate prices fluctuate in the market all the time. Some people reduce insurance on their home to get more savings when the value of their homes drop—but you should refrain from doing so. That is because the price of rebuilding your home remains the same, no matter your real estate value. In the case of an unfortunate disaster, you will likely have to fork out a fortune.

3. Undervaluing your valuables.

Most home insurance plans have limitations for claims regarding your personal possessions found in your home. For example, you may have $10,000 worth of valuables such as jewellery, antiques, or fine art—but the coverage you may have is limited to much less than that. Before purchasing any home insurance, always make a list of all your important home contents, especially those that cost above $1,000. That way, you can check whether your chosen home insurance plan matches the value of both your home and the contents, especially your valuables inside it.

4. Purchasing home insurance based on lower premiums.

While lower premiums can represent savings in the long term, they may not necessarily be the best option. Some insurance policies may have removed certain important aspects such as emergency assistance service, so as to bring down the price of a policy and entice more buyers.

Tip: Identify your insurance needs and priorities before going to any insurer. Doing so will help to keep your needs top-of-mind before the price.

The key to avoiding costly mistakes lies in understanding home insurance. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us contact or find out more.

FamilySurance(eng)Landlord protector(eng)Tenantprotector(eng)