家居保險

索償案例分享

搬遷延伸保障

陳先生於十一月購置了一個新單位,並同時投保了家居財物保險。而他現正居住的地方之家居財物保險於個多月前已到期,由於陳先生想到自己即將遷出,於是沒有續保。

他租用了一部貨車及邀請了朋友幫忙搬屋,但他的花瓶及玻璃鏡於搬運時意外地被打破了。他立即向保險公司索償,但卻基於是次搬遷應受舊居之家居財物保險而非新居之家居財物保險所保障,所以保險公司拒絕賠償。

為何保險公司並不保障陳先生於是次搬遷中之損失?

由於保險公司只保障由專業搬運公司負責之搬遷,而陳先生是次由朋友代勞之搬遷並不適用。再者,陳先生之搬遷應受其現居所之家居財物保險保障,而非新單位之家居財物保險範圍內,但不幸地陳先生並沒有在十月保單到期時續保前者的家居保險。

我們建議家居搬遷工作應由專業搬運公司負責以確保財物可獲得適當處理和保障。此外,客戶亦應在家居搬遷之前弄清楚其現有保單是否能保障到家居物品在搬遷時發生的損毀。

了解更多家居保險計劃

Home Insurance

Claim case sharing

Extension cover for household removal

Mr. Chan bought a new apartment in November and took out home contents insurance. At the same time, his home contents policy for his current residence expired a month earlier. Knowing he was moving out of his current residence soon, he did not renew his old policy.

He hired a van and asked some friends to help him with the removal. Unfortunately, his vase and mirror were broken during the course of transit. He filed a claim with his insurance company immediately. However, Mr. Chan did not receive any compensation from his insurance company because his new home insurance did not cover this type of removal.

Why did his insurance company not cover Mr. Chan’s damage arising from this removal?

As home contents insurance only covers property in the course of removal by professional removers, Mr. Chan’s removal completed with the help of his friends was excluded. Furthermore, Mr. Chan’s removal should have been covered under a Household Removal extension under the home contents policy of his current home instead of under the policy of his new apartment. Unfortunately however, Mr. Chan’s former home contents policy had not been renewed before the removal.

For household removal, customers are advised to hire professional removers to ensure better handling of their property. It is also important to make sure the policy has an extension of Household Removal to cover property removed from their home to the new residence before carrying out the removal.

Learn more about home insurance plans