家居保險

索償案例分享

理賠師的聘用

客戶一般未必清楚理賠師在保險索償所扮演的角色,其實委託理賠師是理賠過程中一個常見的做法。他們是索償調查和損失評估的專家,負責提供有關減少損失、索償申請程序及保單保障範圍的建議。以下例子可說明理賠師的角色:

陳先生於大埔購置了一個二手物業單位,並為其投保了樓宇結構及家居財物保險。數月前,他家中連接浴室內貯水器的鹹水管突然爆裂。整間房屋都被湧出的鹹水浸透,家庭電器、傢俱及地板及牆腳線亦有損毀。

陳先生即時清理了屋內的積水以避免積水範圍擴大。同時,他向其保險公司提出索償,一名理賠師被委派到他家中進行調查。

調查過後,理賠師證實是次水管爆裂乃由正常的損耗引致。報告指出陳先生遭水浸損毀的家居財物及裝修(地板及牆腳)均受其家居保險計劃保單所保障,但更換水管的費用因屬保單中的不承保事項,所以並不能獲得賠償。最後,保險公司根據理賠師報告上的建議作出賠償。

為確保索償過程順利進行,客戶應盡量和理賠師合作,提交給保險公司所需之索償文件及資料。

了解更多家居保險計劃

Home Insurance

Claim case sharing

Appointment of loss adjuster

Many insured persons may not be aware of the duty of the loss adjuster. In fact, the appointment of a loss adjuster is a common practice in claims procedure. Loss adjusters are the experts in assessing the extent of damage and the potential third party claims. They are responsible for providing suggestions on mitigation of loss, procedures on submission of claims and advice on policy coverage, as well as dealing with third party claims arising from the incident. Below is an example demonstrating the role of a loss adjuster:

Mr. Chan took out home contents insurance for his newly bought second-hand premises in Tai Po. A few months ago, a flush water supply pipe to the cistern in the bathroom of his premises burst. The flush water inundated the entire premises and caused serious damage to home appliances, furniture and the flooring and skirting.

Mr. Chan cleared up the water immediately and tried to prevent the water from flooding the premises even more. In the meantime, he filed a claim to his insurance company and a loss adjuster was appointed to carry out a site inspection in his premises.

After investigation, the loss adjuster confirmed that the bursting of the water pipe was due to normal wear and tear of the pipe. The adjuster report stated that the resultant water damage to Mr. Chan’s home contents and building improvements (flooring and skirting) should be covered by the Home Protector insurance policy. However, as the replacement of the water pipe was excluded as specified in the policy, the cost of replacement was not covered. Finally, the insurance company made settlement based on the adjuster report.

To smoothen the claims procedure, the insured person should cooperate with the loss adjuster by providing all information and assistance required by the insurance company.

Learn more about home insurance plans.